Unexpected Twist…

What a crazy ride this has been!! I had to wait until grades were posted and the semester was officially over to approach different schools about attending their program. The last minute thing does not go over well for most admission offices…just and FYI. When I approached one school in particular I mentioned that I was in fact …in a pickle… and I realized that it would be an act of grace to get me to the program. This pickle statement was followed by a lot of …ummm… oohhh… we start school next week…and more … ummm. I wanted to point out that by disclosing that I was in a pickle should have let them know that I was aware of how precarious the situation was and their need to point that out was, after all, repetitive.

Another school guaranteed me a seat in the program, but the class schedule combined with the drive (50 minutes one way) was unrealistic with my new job at the community college. The class structure was a Monday, Wednesday and Friday set up and classes on those days were 50 minutes in duration. This proposed new issues with employment and money, since the cost of driving up there ever day would be enormous.

So I broke down, I cried and screamed and yelled. I was so ANGRY! Red HOT burning anger!! And then it was gone…. I had to make a grown up decision that I didn’t want to make and wasn’t sure I could afford to make it. So I logged on to my SU email to send out an inquiry about the Spring 2016 semester, and waiting for me in my inbox was my acceptance letter into the Social Work program. Each student has to apply after starting classes so that the program (teachers and staff) have a chance to get to know you. The first semester is like an interview and if you pass you move on… if you fail… well, it would suck. I was accepted into the program!! Now I knew I had to bite the bullet. I called and talked to the Registrar at Salisbury University. They ensured me there would be no repercussions because I rocked the boat and that they were thankful to have someone stand up for his or her rights. It was reassuring.

So I decided to stay with Salisbury University. My BAH is cut in half, which will suck. But as I mention I started a new job and that will help with the difference. I also am not giving up the fight, the way the class is structured and the description don’t really jive. So Salisbury is looking into ways to make their program more veteran friendly. Imagine that … some people do listen and hopefully take action to make the changes necessary to help out veterans.

On to the next battle… Angela

5 thoughts on “Unexpected Twist…”

  1. Angela, I am pretty sure when you start Field Placement, you will get that 100% BAH. SU does (allegedly!) report SOWK 420, 421, 640, 645, 665, and 685 as in-residence.

    I have been having this exact fight at pretty much the same point in time!

    Like

    1. That is correct, but that isn’t the way that is should be. Are you at SU? And if so, where are you at in the program?Any program with over 30% online component is considered distant learning… we are at 33.8% currently. SU is looking at ways to reduce that number to ensure veterans get 100% BAH. Will it happen? I don’t know for sure. But I’m not done fighting for myself and other veterans that follow. Keep us posted on what happens on your end and we definitely will keep you posted here! Thanks for the comments and spread the word! ~Angela

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Angela, yes, I am at the Cecil satellite location. I’ve been in contact with Edmund and shared some of the info I’ve gathered. Apparently, we have been having very similar conversations with SU over the last few weeks! I saw your blog last night and was both excited and upset to see others having the same frustrations.

        Like

  2. Welcome aboard Maura, please let us know if there is any info you need… like there is a veteran who has always received 100% BAH from Post 9/11 GI Bill through the duration of the program… that is crazy information that we have yet to get a response on. I have been told by Mancy that if my BAH is important to me I should look into taking other classes as well. IF it is important to me? I earned that shit! Let me know if I can help in any way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear ya! If it’s any consolation – I found your blog because I was googling Mancy after I suspected he may have been let go from SU… I am not 100% on that, but it definitely looks like it might be the case. I am wondering if the other veteran had taken any inter-institutional courses.. It’s insane and completely backwards, but I am taking an online course through UB and because of the way co-op courses appear in GullNet, it’s going to be reported as in-residence. It’s insane. Nothing makes sense.

      Like

Leave a comment